1198 14 2016-8-20
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
SimonW
lvl.2
Flight distance : 1098635 ft
United Kingdom

Hi All
First post on here, quick hello to everyone :-)
I've been researching the Phantom 3 Standard for a while now, I'm a novice but feel really attracted to this as a hobby/interest like the rest of you. I've read mainly positive reviews but I'm concerned about recent firmware, incidents involving flyaways, lost signals and lack of RTH and finally poor customer service. I'm close to ordering but reaching out to the experts to give opinion. I'm also looking to purchase the DJI Care option (plus spare battery) and would welcome any feedback on this etc.?

Looks like a great forum you have here, look forward to contributing if concensus says buy one!

SimonW (UK based)
2016-8-20
Use props
labroides
Core User of DJI
Flight distance : 9991457 ft
  • >>>
Australia

DJI Phantoms are great flying cameras.
You get a distorted idea reading online forums which discuss complaints and problems so much as well as some myths that get a life of their own like flyaways and bad service.
Most fliers are out there having a good time and don't fill forums with .. I had a safe easy flight ..  again.
The Phantom is very easy to fly but there is a lot to learn in mastering it.
There are many things that can go wrong and many skip learning how to ensure they don't go wrong and get themselves into trouble because the get too adventurous too early.
Contrary to the popular myths, the Phantom 3 is remarkably free of flyaways and although DJI's service lagged behind during the early days of explosive growth, it's very good now.
Here's a well written piece that should give you a different perspective on the whole flyaway myth.
http://www.droneflyers.com/2016/ ... -on-drone-flyaways/
2016-8-20
Use props
Flight Raptor
Second Officer
Flight distance : 3014675 ft
  • >>>
United States

I agree with labroides ....these are great flying machines.