Phantom 3 standard, New nexus 7, DJI Go app crash during flight..
1619 8 2016-8-23
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
colnemac
lvl.2

Hi all,
As you will see from my info I'm a relative noob. However have some experience with planes and heli's from years ago.
Flying the p3s tonight, trying out the intelligent flight modes for the first time. Follow me - ok, p.o.i, ok. Tried the waypoint system, 1st point recorded ok, 2nd and 3rd, then screen on the nexus 7 wouldn't respond to trying to plot a third. Initially thought I was mebbe too close to the first point, so moved further away. Next time I looked down, screen was blank. Obviously panic set in lol, thinking it was gonna bog off over the horizon! But it just sat there, so flew it back carefully (thanks to the heli's lol). Next time I looked down tablet was rebooting. As it came back on, I restarted the dji go app, was still recording too. Dunno yet whether there's flight log there. Battery was about half full on nexus, full on transmitter, and 57% on flight battery.
Nexus 7 is a second gen 32gb, was new with fresh install of dji go. Firmware is up to date on p3. Nothing else running at the time.

Any ideas why this would happen? And the safety of such a situation? I know worst case scenario, I can turn the tx off and it'll come home.
Got the nexus 7 as it seems to be widely recommended to fly these things with.

Thanks in advance.
2016-8-23
Use props
DJI-Paladin
Administrator
Flight distance : 2408 ft
Hong Kong

Hello colnemac, actually if there is something wrong with your mobile devices when you use F mode, you can switch it back to P mode and use the RC to get the drone back. I'd suggest you to reinstall the latest Go app and try again. Also, some plugins or apps running in the background will influence. Clear the background apps before flight. Do a factory reset for your mobile device if necessary.
2016-8-24
Use props
colnemac
lvl.2