Phantom 4 motors cut out at 250ft
12Next >
4765 42 2016-8-29
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Maximillian
lvl.1

United States

I was flying my shiny new Phantom 4 (just upgraded from my Phantom 1.1.1 that I've been flying for the last 2 years) and I was hovering at ~250ft. I went to decend, so I put the left stick down (to 100%) and the motors shut down (just like they would if it were on the ground). This is disturbing behavior since the manual doesn't say anything about the left stick at 100% down causing a CSC mid-flight (as opposed to the Left stick to the bottom right and hitting RTH). The entire flight was 49 seconds.
I replayed the flight in the DJI Go app and the only thing I did was pull the left stick down. The signal was solid, I had GPS lock, etc.

The drone is now wrecked: camera sheared off, skids are busted, body damage. It just beeps when you power it on (ESC error) and I'm waiting to hear back from support on what the repair will cost me.

Has anyone else had a Phantom 4 fall out of the sky due to the motors cutting off when decending?

I'm attaching my flight log if anyone wants to re-live my horrible flight.

DJIFlightRecord_2016-08-27_[14-09-28].txt.zip

198.99 KB, Down times: 32

Flight Log

2016-8-29
Use props
Bilzc10
lvl.3
Flight distance : 351575 ft

http://www.healthydrones.com/mai ... &page_id=GENERA
I went ahead and uploaded your log. I'm attempting to figure things out.
2016-8-29
Use props
Aardvark
First Officer
Flight distance : 384432 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

"Has anyone else had a Phantom 4 fall out of the sky due to the motors cutting off when descending ? "

You are right in what you say, left stick down shouldn't shut off the motors, and doesn't on my machine. There is not much information to work off of in healthy drones. Certainly no record of the engine shutting down. I wonder if the battery came loose ?

2016-8-29
Use props
Maximillian
lvl.1

United States

Aardvark Posted at 2016-8-30 01:36