1112 7 2016-11-17
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Dobmatt
Second Officer
Flight distance : 1831050 ft
  • >>>
Canada

I'm a hobbyist, drone enthusiast and an avid landscape photo/videographer. I'm a happy owner of P3P andf I1P birds, amazed by possibilities they offer. I'm a loyal customer and firm believer in DJI technology. I'm also not a maniac, frantically spending retirement pension on every new and flashy toy DJI has to offer.  After reading all these exciting announcements last night - an scary thought crossed my mind. So, here's one simple question:

Can we all X5 camera users expect final firmware update, fixing evident image quality issues?

Allow me to rephrase and expand my question:

Is it technically possible to squeeze more juice from presumably sophisticated X5 camera and reach at least the performance equal to undoubtedly cheaper Phantom 4 Pro camera? Is there any room for improvements?

Assuming obvious technology progress, the mediocre bitrate of X5 camera is given and probably can't be tweaked (?). The firmware, however, is seemingly troubled. The issues, introduced with latest FW updates and particularly visible with 4K video footage, are still waiting for treatment. D-log algorithm is practically useless due to noisy shadows, smudged details, posterisation and other compression artifacts etc.

For many non-professional videographers investing in new, certainly better equipmet is beyond consideration after a mere 1 year from purchasing ridiculously expensive, then assumingly state-of-the-art aerial camera. And now comes the frightening thought ... DJI seems to be extremely busy developing new toys and professional tools at dizzying speed. Will we be hosed down and left in darkness? Or will we receive final, matured camera firmware update?

Yours truly,
Matthew Dobrski

2016-11-17
Use props
DJI-Jamie
DJI team
Flight distance : 112405 ft
United States