first Mavic flight = Frequent disconnects battery failure
1020 3 2016-11-27
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
DebianDog
lvl.1
Flight distance : 448632 ft
United States

I have been flying remote control aircraft since 2005, mostly helicopters, but I did build a F550 w/Naza V1 and a GoPro gimble a ferw years ago. I have a few hundred flights under my belt for sure and I guess my point is I am not toally unfamilar with this technology.  Last night I finally got my Mavic. I wanted to make sure everything was all ready for the morning.  Updated the DJI app (Androlid).  Went to the lastest firmare it prompted me for.  I calibrated the gimble just to see if it was level. took some test photos, etc. But when I tried to calibrate the controller sticks using this as a guide:

It just would not let me do it.   I was a bit concerned and with a quick internet search I found a thread here that said something to the effect of "should not be a problem".

MORNING! Flipped in and out of sports mode rapidly and calibrated compass. Took off to get a feel for the bird.  (Steady as a rock BTW)   Since I did not have too much room I put it in to Tripod mode and was just flying back and forth the the DJI app just disconnected.  Since I had not used a phone as a screen before I just assumed the app crashed.  Second flight was about the same except this time it was a full disconnect.  (Note: I was also seeing these disconnects the night before but assumed I was getting some type of interferance in the house) Luckily, before it almost hit, the house it went in to obstucal avoidance then auto-landed.  When it did land it showed I had stick errors - recalibrate.

Looking at the log it looks like I had multiple battery errors

When I took it back inside I got another battery and tried to recalibrate the IMU and it just hung for a while, second attempt worked.

I then attempted to recalibrate my controller and again it failed the first time then again the second time worked.