12Next >
7432 40 2016-11-28
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
MacPap
lvl.2
Greece

Hi
while waiting for my Mavic (as so many), I am making scenarios of what to do when it arrives. Doing that and reading and viewing all about intelligent modes I wondered about something. Maybe it seems stupid to the experienced users but I am a complete newbie in this. So here it goes.

Is the Mavic or the DJI Go app for that matter able to fly to the controller instead of going home? And Ill explain.

Imagine I start the drone from a moving boat and do all the flying around I want. At some point suppose I want to use the return to home function. The Mavic would fly to the take off coordinates and try to land. However with the boat moving around there would be no solid ground under it hence no place to land.

Same problem applies if for some reason id like to use the home lock feature.

So is there a way to make the drone fly toward the Remote controller? Or maybe set as new home the position of the remote while the drone is in flight?

Thx in advance

MacPap
2016-11-28
Use props
ctopysf
lvl.2

United States

You can update the home location to be whatever the current location of the controller is, provided that your mobile device has GPS. This isn't automatic though, you'll need to update it manually any time you want the home location to chance afaik.

I have no idea about taking off from a moving vehicle, sounds risky. I'd stop the boat first.
2016-11-28
Use props
Chaser720
lvl.3
Flight distance : 400190 ft
Canada

Taking off and landing from a "stopped" boat is tough enough. You're constantly drifting so you're landing zone is constantly moving.

And if you do mess it up then you're Mavic is wet and or gone.
2016-11-28
Use props
jvanderhoff
lvl.3
Flight distance : 14045 ft
United States

Chaser720 Posted at 2016-11-29 08:13
Taking off and landing from a "stopped" boat is tough enough. You're constantly drifting so you're l ...