iOS App Causing iPad and iPhone dead - Related to DJI App Store Release
1869 3 2015-2-10
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
alienbat
lvl.1

Australia

I flew my DJI Inspire 1 a few times and one thing concerns me is that quite frequently, the DJI Pilot app crashes the whole iOS device and it has to be restarted.

I am not sure if anybody else encounters this. The crash happened on my iPhone 6Plus and iPad Air 2, both are iOS8.1 devices, so it is highly unlikely caused by a specific iOS device.

Once the crash happens I pretty much have to let go of the remote control, let the drone stay at where it is while I restart the device. Usually the drone is so far away and I can not fly it by naked eyes.

What concerns me most is that the app actually manages to crash the whole iOS.

I am an iOS developer and I can say it with certainty that iOS is designed in such a way that apps are contained in a safe sandbox, and the unstability of the app at worst can only crash the app itself but never the whole operation system. Most modern operation systems are designed in such way too. I personally have never encountered an app downloaded from App Store that is capable of crashing the iOS and I never manage to deveop such a thing capable of that.

To crash the whole iOS you pretty much has to dig up some private APIs that are exclusive for Apple internal use, and only private APIs are capable of penetrating the app sandbox. These APIs are powerful, but undocumented. However using private APIs are STRICTLY forbidden, and all apps submitted to App Store will be inspected against private API usage... however this is only to the apps submitted to App Store.

But the iOS DJI Pilot app is released using Enterprise Distribution Certificate and is not reviewed by Apple.