Quick questions regarding P4 Firmware Upgrade
519 6 2016-12-9
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
fans3b6b2cc2
lvl.1

United States

Hi everyone....I am new to both this forum and also as a phantom 4 pilot. I look forward to hopefully helping out newbies in the future as well.
When updating my remote control's firmware, or even checking to see if it has a new update, do I also need to have the P4 turned on as well as the RC?  The RC is connected to my ipad air2 using the DJI Go4 App? Without the P4 turned on, I am getting a "Forward Vision Sensor Error" and it says "DJI Assistant  Calibration Vision System is required". Is this because the P4 is not turned on during the attempted firmware check on the RC?

One other question:  When I use the Assistant app on my macbook, it shows that my P4 needs four Firmware updates. Do I need to download every one, or just the latest one? I bought the P4 used from someone who only flew it once, way back in April so it needs many updates.

Thanks in advance, much appreciated.
2016-12-9
Use props
Grizz 1
lvl.4
Flight distance : 120066 ft
United States

for the P4, I would not use the dji go 4 app yet. go to apple or dji site and download the dji go app (not the 4 app), if you don't already have it, and use that one for now. then watch some of the firmware videos on "how to"
personally with my P4, I wou;ld connect the aircraft to your ipad  and do a firmware on the aircraft FIRST. this is important to do the aircraft first and with the controller off. then power off and on the aircraft, then shut it down again. then power up the controller and do the fiwmware for it as well, then power off and on. they then should be good to go.
2016-12-9
Use props
TyCon
lvl.1

United States