Qs re: S1000, S1000+ and A3
3941 14 2016-12-23
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Draco95
lvl.1

Australia

Hey there,

I'm new to the forum but I've been flying drones since 2014, even got a CASA controller certificate in September 2015.  I have a DJI S1000 with A2 and Futaba 14SG.   
I want to upgrade to the A3 Pro system, but I'm worried about a few things; obviously I'll do my own research on the following questions, but I want to put this out there for anyone with ideas or suggestions to comment on…

So, my first question is: are the centre frame boards of the S1000 (parts 47 and 48) interchangeable with the S1000+?  I really like the idea of the removable section in the top board, but don't like the idea of buying a whole new drone.  Can I replace the S1000 centre frame top and bottom boards with S1000+ top and bottom boards without major issues?

I read through the A3 manual and it doesn't look like it has an inbuilt receiver like the A2… the A3 uses Lightbridge, DR16 or S-Bus, non of which I have used previously (yeah, I know – laziness uses the inbuilt A2 receiver)  What's the best way - that keeps as many ports functional as possible - to link a Futaba 14SG (with receiver R7008SB) with the A3 Pro?

I think that's all for now, more Qs will come I'm sure.  Any input is welcome.

Fair farren,
Draco

2016-12-23
Use props
Draco95
lvl.1

Australia

Well, seeing as I've been inundated with useful replies, I'll post some of my own findings too.