Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
New to drones (received as Christmas gift) please ** ADVISE ***
1158 20 2016-12-30
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
FRCornelis
lvl.4
Flight distance : 1252884 ft
  • >>>
United States

Hello everyone, this is my first post about my very first drone. As a first time pilot, I have lots of questions, so please excuse the length of this long post but your help is really appreciated and valued.

SUMMARY:
I got the Phantom 3 Standard as a Christmas gift (unexpected surprise)
Since I'm new to this and never flew a drone before, I decided to educate myself before attempting to flight, so I read the manual, browsed forums, did all the battery charging, checks, calibrations, and understood how the DJI APP and the RC worked to avoid an operator avoidable crash. Everything went well, had about 3 flights from my backyard and I was amazed how this thing flights, I was able to get the drone far away and high, I almost lost line-of-sight, it was a great experience as my first flight.
Because I've been toying the idea of buying a drone (The Parrot Bebop 2) for quite a while now, when I got this one as a gift, it felt a lot better than the Parrot to me.
Then I started reviewing the unit myself in terms of specs, reviews, and people's feedback and this is where everything started... so I returned the unit and got the $400 in favor of an upgrade.

SEEKING ADVICE:
Now I'm aware of the difference between the Advanced and Pro editions and also the Phantom 4 generation.
I understand that the Standard has shorter range, lacks of extra features such as downward vision system, glonass, better camera & RC, lightbridge, faster charger and 4K camera (PRO edition)
I know that the Standard is perfectly fine for a beginner and perhaps beyond that but I just wanted to move one notch up.