Prop guards...
2702 34 2015-2-14
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Moto70
lvl.2

United Kingdom

I am ordering my P2/V+ this week and I was going to order some prop guards at the same time but upon reading this...

"Use of prop guards, as these are almost universally accepted to enhance a wobbling state when hovering or descending called Vortex Ring State."

...I am not sure what to do?

I do not plan on flying too close to anything but I presumed anything that offered additional protection would be a good thing?

2015-2-14
Use props
nilsblix.gmail
Second Officer
Flight distance : 23047543 ft
  • >>>
Spain

Hello

I am far from an expert but in the start prop guards saved my Phantom
Just have a look at this :

http://forum.dji.com/forum.php?m ... age%3D1&lang=en
2015-2-14
Use props
PhantomHelp
lvl.3

United States

A lot of people are using prop guards with no trouble. So, I wouldn't pay much attention to that statement.

You do need to pay attention to your Phantom when descending though -- props guards or not. If you come straight down too quickly, you could get into VRS and crash. Descending at about 2 ft/sec works well for me. Whichever speed you choose, just make sure you watch for any wobble or a change in the sound of the props -- both indicators of VRS.
2015-2-14
Use props
Jamie
lvl.4

United States

I have been flying RC for years, and started without prop guards.  I now use them.

I have tried to prove them to create stability problems in flight or descending, and cannot.  DJI recommends them for new pilots.

They Phantom shows up better in the sky, particularly with the red fronts (I used a red Sharpie), and I bought a carry/backpack case that allows me to leave them on at all times.  The guards offer protection to the craft in numerous ways, and as well may offer protection to others who may be hit by it.

There is no reason for me to take them off.  I like them.
2015-2-14
Use props
PhantomHelp
lvl.3

United States