3946 1 2017-1-8
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Dronoob
lvl.4
Flight distance : 126079 ft
Germany

Hey guys!

I saw some people refer to the list of supported devices for the Android app. Please do not take it too literally; the app runs on many other devices, too. Here is an explanation why you should not take this list too serious. BTW, I am a developer for Android apps that have >1,000,000 users.

1) If in the worst case the app does not work on a specific device, the app developers will see that in the crash reports they get. In the Play Store you can then exclude that device from the list of supported devices. Users with those devices cannot download the app. If something is seriously not working, you won't be able to download the app to your device if the developers at DJI do their job, which I think they do. If you do not exclude those devices, you will get bad reviews and no developer wants this.

2) The app runs on devices starting at Android 4.1 and as Nexus devices are on the list of supported devices which run on Android 7.1. This is a span of 4.5 years of Android development that needs to be covered. If you cover 4.5 years of Android history, you automatically support more devices than just 20-30.  I guess there should be moer than 30,000 different devices available starting at Android 4.1. As a verdor you cannot buy and test them all.

3) There are two types of devices that Android developers really care about: One type is a rooted device or a Nexus device so that you can install unreleased developer versions of Android. You do this, so that you are prepared for new versions (e.g. Android 7.2) when they get released. This is probably the reason why some Nexus devices are on the list of supported devices. The other type is popular devices. And here Samsung has a very strong market share. It's no surprise that many supported and maybe intensively tested devices come from Samsung.