EMI when flying drone for surveying
1840 6 2017-1-18
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Kripps
lvl.1

Australia

Hi there,

I am new to DJI products and am using my inspire to do some surveying close to telecommunications and the Inspire sometimes goes haywire. I was looking into the problem and found that it would be EMI from the tower. Is there anyway to sheild the inspire from this interference? Is it only the transmitter that causes this to happen or is it the GPS as well?

Thanks,

Hamish
2017-1-18
Use props
Farnk666
lvl.4
Flight distance : 1711394 ft
United States

Highly unlikely - how close are you to the tower when things happen and what behaviour does the Inspire show when it does?
What sort of comms infrastructure is it? Cellular/HF/Microwave?

More detail please.
2017-1-18
Use props
Kripps
lvl.1

Australia

Farnk666 Posted at 2017-1-18 16:30
Highly unlikely - how close are you to the tower when things happen and what behaviour does the Inspire show when it does?
What sort of comms infrastructure is it? Cellular/HF/Microwave?

Hi Frank666,

Thank you so much for your reply. I have to get relatively close to the tower for surveying prospects roughly 1-5 meters. When the inspire comes close to some of the antennas the drone loses control from the ground station. It flies sporadically around until communication is achieved it wobbles and flys in any random position. The comms infrastructure is mainly cellular but some of it does include both hf and microwave.

Thanks

Hamish
2017-1-19
Use props
ems12a
lvl.2
Flight distance : 555863 ft
  • >>>
United States

Kripps Posted at 2017-1-19 16:42
Hi Frank666,