Waterski active track
2323 12 2017-1-19
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
TrevorSK
lvl.4
Flight distance : 1547713 ft
Canada

Hello community. One of the main uses I have for my Mavic is to take video and still photos of my family waterskiing. Any help on what I should use for settings would really be appreciated. I'm looking for both help with best settings to create the best images, but also safety sugestions for over water flight. As a beginner, I'm quite nervous about sending my new Mavic over the lake for fear of a water crash. This would enevitably be fatal for the Mavic and my footage as I have no scuba gear to retrieve it. Here are some specific questions I have, but please feel free to chime in with any other related advice. 1) Kids tend to ski with boat running at 32 MPH (52 KM/h). When active track is initiated, will Mavic keep up automatically? Do I need to initiate sport mode too?

2) I've heard about downward vision system getting confused over water. Should this always be turned off when flying over the lake?
3) What's the lowest altitude I can safely fly over the lake with active track. I think some of the coolest closeup footage would be at low altitude?
4) Can I snap still photos with the shutter button while video is recording simultaneously?
5) Would it be best to control the Mavic from the boat, or from a fixed location at the shore?
2017-1-19
Use props
fans3662eecc
lvl.1
Flight distance : 2372 ft
United States

I have no answer but I'm going to follow this thread because I too plan on trying to film waterskiing.
2017-1-19
Use props
gnom
Second Officer
Flight distance : 716572 ft
Germany

It would be best to control the Mavic from the boat, because so you see it by eye all the time. It would be save to set the homepoint at land. If there are some problems it will fly there and land by it self. I would start at a save altitude and distance. If you unterstand what the Mavic will do you can decrease both.
2017-1-19
Use props
TrevorSK