Cold weather / battery question
1797 12 2017-1-20
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
leonardo.sb
lvl.1

Portugal

Hello!

Im kinda new in this wonderful experience that is the P3S Loving it.

Today was about to start a new flight and was very cold outiside (about 7º celsius). The DJI GO app was telling me to warm up the battery to 25º celsius. I've tried to put inside my jacket for about 15 minutes to heat up. But still was getting the warning.

So i've decided to not take off.

My question is.. It is dangerous? it  have somehting that i need to worry about to take off in that conditions? or simply the bird won't take off because of that?

Thanks in advance!

2017-1-20
Use props
Microcyb
lvl.4
Flight distance : 1095955 ft
United States

I have flown many times with the air temperatures at -15F (-26C)  with no issues at all.  You just don't leave your unused battery out in the cold, keep it warm before flight.

One trick to warm up your battery to avoid that warning is to get some hand warmers.
https://www.amazon.com/camping-h ... 8&node=14329821

2017-1-20
Use props
leonardo.sb
lvl.1

Portugal

Microcyb Posted at 2017-1-20 08:31
I have flown many times with the air temperatures at -15F (-26C)  with no issues at all.  You just don't leave your unused battery out in the cold, keep it warm before flight.

One trick to warm up your battery to avoid that warning is to get some hand warmers.

oh nice. Thanks for the feedback.

Those hand warmers you recommended  are disposable? or have multiple uses?

i've saw some "usb powered socks" arround the web to warm feet... Maybe the battery fits inside? (same shape as feet ? lol)

Thanks again
2017-1-20
Use props
RicardoGray
lvl.4
Flight distance : 4356421 ft
United States

Microcyb Posted at 2017-1-20 08:31