5608 21 2017-1-24
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
ReinisK
lvl.1
Flight distance : 21946 ft
Latvia

Hey!

I've had the Mavic for a little more than a week and I'm still testing everything out, including the camera.
A few days ago I came back from a test flight and I found this awful footage -
I didn't expect miracles out of this small camera, but those very blurry dark parts are something I haven't seen before with any camera (I've been working as a camera guy and editor for more than 5 years).
This was shot at 4k 24p, Art -1,-3,-1. Converted to 1080p for youtube, but at 4k it looks the same.
Further tests revealed that the dark parts of the image get very, very compressed. So if you accidently underexpose your shot, it's going to have a LOT less detail.
So the exposure must be spot on every time. This is true about almost any small sensor camera with a compressed codec, but from other cameras I've never seen anything like those blurry artefacts.
Underexposed raw photo files are ok and don't lose detail much. So that makes me think that the image compression processing is set to compress low exposure areas too much. And by that I mean really a LOT, as you can see in the video. The footage is unwatchable (not even talking about "using" it - putting it next to other shots in a video edit).
So what does this mean? It's not just about exposing properly, it's more about high contrast scenes like sunsets, sunrises and probably other scenes.

The compression is so bad, that really it cannot be hidden. I'm not talking about bringing the shadows up to see into them, even bringing them down doesn't hide that blur. So essentially it's a lost shot - a scene which just cannot be shot because of this compression. Like really if I turn the camera that direction, the shot is ruined.