Success Rate
1449 10 2015-2-18
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Abe_Newbie
lvl.1

United States

I am a newbie and I haven't flown yet. I realize that the likelhood of me crashing is extremely high. Everyday in this forum, I read of lost drones, crashes, fly aways, so on and so forth. Is this "normal" in terms of drone flying? I don't know, maybe I just need a pep talk. Thanks!
2015-2-18
Use props
franknesss
lvl.2

United States

I would recommend flying something smaller first if you're new to quads. Personally, the assist features are great, but if you're not familiar with the basics of flying quad, there could be some serious issues.

Loss of GPS and going into Attitude mode could cause you to crash, or lose your Inspire 1 if you're not familiar with how quads move/behave in different orientations.

Just my 2 cents. Welcome to the community, good luck and happy flying.  

2015-2-18
Use props
daver/m
lvl.4
Flight distance : 234590 ft
United States

You'll do fine , read and follow the directions a few times and try to find someone who already has a dji phantom or inspire preferably to help and advise you a little , you could buy the small cheap non GPS Hubsan drone which will help you get over first time gitters with the inspire , actually the hubsan will be some what harder to fly at first than a properly setup dji product , but it can survive almost any crash or misadventure you might encounter it's quite small and fun to fly indoor or out ...    Use the forums but Don't get discouraged by every thing you read on forums some are valid issues and some user errors . I like using youtube for tutorials if I need to or just for confirmation..... and you can weed out the BS pretty quick and find the correct solutions and answers you need . Good luck to you then !
2015-2-18
Use props
daver/m
lvl.4
Flight distance : 234590 ft
United States

Dronefly .com , has some decent video tutorials on YouTube or the link on thier website . Good people at dronefly.