Height locked when flying in an indoor dome
13712 13 2017-2-1
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
pluk
New
Canada

Hi everyone,

I'm new to drones and especially Mavic Pro. I want to fly the drone in a closed soccer dome, so no GPS possible. When I raised it up, it sort of stopped at a height of 20 feet, been able to hover steadily.

Question : How can I raise it higher ? the dome is close to 50 feet. At 20 feet, it is just too low and disturbs the play.

Any setting helps would be appreciated. Thank you !
2017-2-1
Use props
cluc
lvl.3
Flight distance : 85682 ft
Australia

Did you read the user guide?

Go to the DJI Go 4 App, Connect to the Mavic, Tap on the drone icon, scroll down until you find "Set Mac Flight Altitude" and set it.
  • Minimum hight is 20 meters... your limit mentioned 20 feet (6 meters) seem to be a bit low, must be a defective drone, you should raise a ticket with DJI Support.
2017-2-1
Use props
Jason Lane
lvl.4
Flight distance : 260144 ft
Australia

No, I don't think your Mavic is defective.  When in OPTI mode, the Mavic is limited to a height of about 5m or 16ft, which sounds like it's probably the limit that you're seeing. If you want to get around the 5m limit, you can force the Mavic into ATTI mode by disabling the Visual Positioning System. The height limit in ATTI mode is about 30m or 98ft, which sounds like plenty for your intended use.

A word of caution... Many of us have experienced erratic behavior with the Mavic in ATTI mode, and some of us are still trying to dig into the issue. I suggest, if possible, that you test it first when there's nobody else in the dome, or else test ATTI mode in some other location where it's not likely to hit a person or object. If you find your Mavic is stable and controllable in ATTI mode, then hopefully it will stay that way.
2017-2-1
Use props
cluc
lvl.3
Australia

Jason Lane Posted at 2017-2-1 20:31