What happens if my GPS satellite count suddenly drops?
4939 29 2017-2-7
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
RobOnSamui
lvl.1

Thailand

Hi. Total noobie here with a SH Phantom 2 I just bought.

I'm only interested in using this to fly set paths using waypoints. But the thing is - I'm on an island in Thailand and 80% of the time I can only pick up 5 satellites. (Yes - got copper foil and tape on order!) But today I saw something that made me wonder about what I've read . . . that if the GPS link dops, the drone just hovers wherever it happens to be.

Today I got 8 satellites and went outside for a trial flight. I set the compass and plotted a short waypoint route. I changed my mind and moved to a better starting point nearby. But then I noticed that the satellites icon on my phone app was greyed out and showing only 5 satellites. BUT, looking at the waypoint route I'd already set, the original starting point where I set 'home' was still showing up, about 50 yards away (marked on the screen with a little H), and my current position (the little red plane) was also showing where I was now standing, 50 yards away from the H.

I've read replies in other forums to the same topic I'm raising here And they all say that when the GPS satellite connection is lost, the drone just stops and hovers where it happens to be until the battery dies.

My question is this - once the compass has been set and the home position successfully set, surely this will still be detectable with those 5 satellites available? But just like Google Maps, maybe only accurate to about 10 yards? If my home point has been set, then does it need all those 7+ satellites to find its way back to it? With only 5 satellites (icon on phone app greyed out) it was still showing the home point on the waypoint route on the groundatation.