Need Help Choosing
1000 14 2017-2-12
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
iamthewatchdog
lvl.3
United States

Greetings,

I know this probably has been asked before, but I searched several key words, and got zero hits.

I am new to the world of DJI drones and I'm looking at both the Mavic Pro and the Phantom 4 Pro. I've only ever flown cheap sub $150 drones, so jumping to 10x that amount is very scary. Add to that some of the mishaps of the Mavic Pro, and I'm beginning to reconsider buying one -- from DJI or any other company.

Are the Mavic and the P4P good for beginners? Are any DJI drones good for beginners? I've watched hours of footage/reviews of both, and some folks say that both are great for newbs, others say that they would start with small cheap drones. Problem with that is, they're easy to lose, and break way too easily. After a while that adds up.

Some of the threads on the mavic have me rethinking buying it. I know that all products have bugs and you roll the dice with just about anything electronic these days. But, is DJI fixing these bugs? (From what I've read on here, some are still having the same LOC or similar failures) Is the customer service as bad as I've read? Should I wait a few more months?

I like both of the drones -- the Mavic is the one I'm leaning towards, but either would be fine. Again, I'm sorry if this type of question has been beat to death, and please don't think I am going all "chicken little" on these drones. Just want to make the best decision.

2017-2-12
Use props
TJAUS
lvl.3
Flight distance : 16683 ft
Australia

Maybe try a P3 Standard for an entry level. About 3rd to half the price of Mavic and P4P.
2017-2-12
Use props
Gallacherboy
lvl.2
Flight distance : 778209 ft
United Kingdom

Get a Mavic, you wont be disappointed
2017-2-12
Use props
iamthewatchdog
lvl.3
United States

TJAUS Posted at 2017-2-12 15:05
Maybe try a P3 Standard for an entry level. About 3rd to half the price of Mavic and P4P.