Drop in Altitude During Acceleration
1500 5 2015-2-20
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
david.vollrath.
lvl.1

Costa Rica

I've had some Phantom experience and the Inspire 1 is my first drone. Overall I've been incredibly impressed with it's performance especially in gps mode in the wind. Pretty unbelievable how well the craft stays in one place.

One small thing I've noticed is that when I full throttle forward I notice a drop in altitude. Is this normal or am I doing something wrong?

Thanks!
2015-2-20
Use props
Chris Con
lvl.4
Flight distance : 501175 ft
United States

It's normal..... compare it to the spoiler on a car.. It's angling itself in a direction to move forward which also forces it closer to the ground  (downward air pressure - wind tunnel style)... Try the same move at half speed and you'll see the flight controller can compensate...

too long: didn't read - the inspire is really fast
-chris
2015-2-21
Use props
david.vollrath.
lvl.1

Costa Rica

Thank's Chris for the input. It makes sense but I don't see any reason why the firmware couldn't be updated to compensate for this. When I throttle forward, that should be the only direction the craft moves in. Anyone else care to chime in with their thoughts on this? Seems like it could be an easy fix for dji in a firmware update to just add a little lift when the inspire is at full throttle or am I missing something else?
2015-2-22
Use props
ambambcopter
lvl.2
United Kingdom

david.vollrath. Posted at 2015-2-22 22:17
Thank's Chris for the input. It makes sense but I don't see any reason why the firmware couldn't be  ...

David
There are too many variables to take into account for them to compensate for sink within the software.
The rotor disk doesn't supply lift in exactly the same way a fixed wing does.
For instance, whilst the rotor disk is level both blades are giving full lift.
But when they are moving along into oncoming air only the advancing blade is giving full lift.