First Flight Concerns
1276 12 2017-2-16
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
ricktator
lvl.1
Flight distance : 306722 ft
United States

I activated my Mavic yesterday and had my first "real" (more than 20ft off the ground) flight today. While flying at an altitude of about 100 feet, when flying forward and then letting off the stick, it sounded like the motors would lose power momentarily and then would resume. This happened several times and I feared the drone would fall out of the sky. I was flying in fairly low light and little to no wind. I am new to DJI drones and have much to learn about the various features they offer, so I ask, should I be concerned?

Many Thanks!

2017-2-16
Use props
NugGerath
lvl.1
Flight distance : 135118 ft
Poland

No, look at some charts how the quad copters propellers work, which one works when etc. Of course i did not hear what you hear - but some voices can be disturbing in first few hours of flight. I`m beginner also - so maybe someone more experienced take a vote
2017-2-16
Use props
rick39
lvl.4
Flight distance : 164354 ft
United Kingdom

Did it lose height or directional control ? If not then all you're hearing are the blades compensating for your inputs, in this case the drone had to decelerate to come to a stop by spinning up the rotors to act as a brake while at the same time maintaining height. Was it not more the case that you heard it increase in volume while it was decelerating and then decrease in volume as it achieved it's stationary hover.
2017-2-16
Use props
DroneFlying
Second Officer
Flight distance : 10774613 ft
United States

I know you said that there was "little to no wind", but even a 50' change in altitude can result in a very different wind velocity, and you mentioned that your Mavic was twice that distance from the ground. And by any chance were you flying into the wind when this occurred?
2017-2-16
Use props
dronist
First Officer
  • >>>
United States