Finally got to fly - A little fear a good thing
925 3 2017-2-19
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Teesquar
lvl.1

United States

Waited for about a week for the weather to cooperate (60s mid-February in Northeast Ohio??? I'll take it) and headed out to behind a local middle school for an early morning shake-down flight. Latest firmware and updates all around and no problems on a single battery flight. Was going to stop at a misty soccer fields complex, as it was empty, but decided not to. Didn't want to push it as I'm a first time quad operator and I wanted to tweak some gimbal, etc. settings.
Leads to the "little fear" part. Nothing bad happened and no scares, just very wary of my $1200 (Fly More) investment.
While waiting for the delivery and subsequant chance to fly I was like a sponge soaking up the forum posts and instructional videos. I also read/watched the accident stuff, too. I was going to try like Hell not to become another crash story due to me screwing up. Wanted to be ready if any of the tech issues popped up, too. So I'm taking it very sloooow.
My first flight was over the pavement area of the school, only, with a constant visual on the MP. Took it up to 40 meters, pivoted, moved around a little and shot some vid. There is a football field/track directly adjacent, but that will be for another flight. Shot a couple videos with those settings on automatic. Manual mode and adjustments and filters will come later. I did not want any distractions.
I know there are a lot of veteran quads operators out there that are able to take their MP 3000M out at 100M right out of the box, while trying all the bells and whistles, but I'm going in baby steps. A few years back I built a powered RC balsa wood glider with a 2M wingspan. First flight out after 10 minutes of flying I augered it because I got too cute ... hey, I can fly MS Flight sim with no problems, so the glider will be no issue. Wrong ... wood shards.