What is expected range?
978 7 2017-2-23
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
14jnewmy14
lvl.3
Flight distance : 452835 ft
United States

Im curious what kind of range i should expect back to the remote for video. I have a P4 pro and i will get about 1500-1700 feet away and i start getting choppy feeds back to my screen and i get a warning telling me im going to lose video back to my screen. I have the controller with the integrated screen. Im new to this model so hopefully im describing what the remote is telling me accurately enough to get some input. The only reason i ask is because it has a advertised range of something like 4 miles but if you cant get reliable video feed back that far, what good is thst range. Ive never lost control of the aircraft, I just lose video feed to my screen. Thanks for the input.
2017-2-23
Use props
Cetacean
Captain
Flight distance : 2528264 ft
  • >>>
United States

Aloha 14,

With the other P3A, P3P, P4 and P4 Pros we are able to go into the HD option (upper right) and change the setting from Auto to Custom.  Custom allows (in the P4 Pro case) a change from 2.4 GHz to 5.8 GHz.  All the noted Phantoms can also choose the strongest channel (when in 2.4 GHz) and reduce the bitrate for the live feed (both frequencies).  This usually cleans up the live feed and increases range.

The biggest problem you may have though is interference.  If you are in a suburban area, most all the wireless phones operate on 2.4 GHz and that is amazing interference.  That is why 5.8 GHz can be very helpful.  Once I could not get past a half mile.  Also transmission lines can really mess you up.

My suggestion is that you look at your problem as an interference issue and work around it.  Also, be sure to install the updates and upgrades so DJI can help you with the issue.  They are aware of the problem and constantly working to make improvements.

Hope this helps!

Aloha and Drone On!
2017-2-23
Use props
Arvy55
lvl.2

United States