Mavic Disconnect and Lost
2341 24 2017-3-13
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
ExtremiS
lvl.1
Flight distance : 49281 ft
Thailand

Hi guy, im new here to the forum but i have been with the mavic for 3 weeks. Today (about 5 hr ago) my mavic was disconnect from the controller after im up for 5mins about a kilometer away but i set the drone to hover in place if disconnected, so i grab a motorbike and went to the bridge near the last place that the drone was supposed to hover above. But there was nothing in the sky(about 70m up) so i keep looking for the next 30mins, i got nothing my mavic was probably gone.Here is my flight log, please explain something to me (im very new to this)

https://healthydrones.com/main?f ... _id=GENERALOverview

Can i do anything about it? or just get a new one? If im get a new one, can i buy only a mavic without remote controller since i bought a pack with extrabattery and bag.
- im in sport mode

thank you in advance
2017-3-13
Use props
Ex Machina
First Officer
Flight distance : 1806362 ft
United States

Sorry to hear that. Looks like there were multiple warnings about disconnections, weak signals and interference -- these are scenarios where an RTH instead of hover on disconnect might have been more appropriate, or possibly not flying at all, but I'm sure you realize this now.

Seems likely the Mavic hovered over the river until the battery depleted, triggering a forced landing in water. If the Mavic also was unlucky enough to lose GPS or if there was a strong wind, it could have drifted and ended up who knows where.

Last I checked you can buy a Mavic-only from the DJI store, but you might as well pay the extra $100 and get the controller, which you could turn around on eBay to recoup some of your loss.
2017-3-13
Use props
ExtremiS
lvl.1
Thailand