Follow me not working
2125 26 2017-3-16
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
samd
lvl.1

United States

New to the forum, so a quick bio. I am a land surveyor using an Inspire 1 Pro with X5 and an ipad mini 2 for aerial images and ultimately creating contour data. We are on our second uav, as my avatar shows what happens to an inspire when you hit a silo at 33 mph, at 100+ feet in the air!

We are having trouble with the follow me mode. We are trying to create some video of past and ongoing projects, and cannot seem to get the uav to actually follow me. The controller is in F mode, and we are 10+ meters in the air. The DJI Go app says that Follow Me is active. The inspire does a rotation, like it's aware it should do something other than hover. But then it never seems to do anything. It tried to follow me a couple of times, but never moved more than 20 feet or so, then just hovered.

Any idea what we're doing wrong (and I'm 99% positive it's user error)?

Thanks, Sam
2017-3-16
Use props
Mark Guille
Second Officer
Flight distance : 2031818 ft
Jersey

Does the I-pad mini 2 have GPS and is it turned on? If the answer is no, this would explain your problem.  
2017-3-16
Use props
RichJ53
First Officer
Flight distance : 1837356 ft
  • >>>
United States

Like Mark said, Your device needs to have a GPS sensor and they are not available in tablets with Wi-Fi only.

I am using the iPad mini 4 with both  Wi-Fi and Cellular modules. It will provide the tracking GPS needed for follow me to work.

Rich
2017-3-16
Use props
samd
lvl.1

United States

Yes, it has cellular, and yes, it was turned on. It seemed like it WANTED to try and follow, it just wouldn't. All it would do is hover.
2017-3-16
Use props
Mark Guille
Second Officer
Jersey

samd Posted at 2017-3-16 10:27
Yes, it has cellular, and yes, it was turned on. It seemed like it WANTED to try and follow, it just wouldn't. All it would do is hover.

Does it have GPS and was it turned on?
2017-3-16
Use props
samd
lvl.1