Tips for a newbie
1822 25 2017-3-16
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
NewToDroning
lvl.2
United States

Hi folks,
         I am finally getting my hands on a Mavic today (Ordered on the 12th, getting delivered today). I have few questions and requests to make, esp to the experienced folks here.

1. What tips/ suggestions would you give to a complete newbie while unpacking/verifying Mavic? (Anything that you could have done differently when you got yours)
2. Are there any checklist items that I should look for in order to make sure my Mavic is free of any Out Of The Box (Quality Control) issues? This is my very first Drone.. not sure what all to look for.
3. Any must have accessories? (Filters, Bagpacks and such). 4. DJI Go App, is it better over Android or iOS?

Appreciate all your help. Glad to join the family.

PS: Anyone in Chicago land area? If yes, did you find a State Farm agent who could insure this thing?

Thanks

2017-3-16
Use props
Highasakite
Second Officer
Flight distance : 1423930 ft
United States

NewToDroning, #1 go here and register with the FAA. https://registermyuas.faa.gov/  #2 Read and understand ALL of the instructions!!! Read the forum! Read the instructions again! Start slowly.  Have fun! Welcome and good luck! Safety First! Ken
2017-3-16
Use props
DJI-Ken
DJI team
Flight distance : 1515312 ft
  • >>>
United States

Congratulations of you Mavic, for a newbie to get a $1,000 aircraft  is a pretty big step.
Take baby steps and no need to impress your friends.
Only fly in a LARGE outdoor area with nothing around and fly higher then the tallest building, pole or tree.
Make sure to set your RTH altitude higher than any buildings around.
Study and 100% understand the ENTIRE manual. Also watch all the tutorial videos in the app.
If you want to mess around and hone your pilot skills I'd get a $50 Syma to practice with.
Subscribe to the DJI Support YouTube channel as there's plenty of great videos there.