Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
fanse60fa0d7
lvl.2
Flight distance : 276844 ft
  • >>>
Australia

Hi All,
I am looking for some comments on my recent Phantom 3 crash. I had been flying it fine for 8 months until I decided to upgrade the firmware. In the first flight after the upgrade the quad just dropped from the sky with 96% battery remaining.
I have video of the crash. I was flying the quad in a straight line back to me. The video shows this, then the quad just tumbles and smashes on the ground.

You can watch the video here:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0Bx67XBdVKhrKbGNLbUpOYnU2Mjg/view?usp=sharing

DJI's response to my warranty claim states:
"1. The aircraft was piloted under P-GPS mode, and responded to the pilot’s control well;
2. T=366.2s, h=19.9m, aircraft crashed after pilot pulled throttle and elevator down, and pushed aileron rightward; "

AND a $705 bill for repairs.

What I am asking is, does the video and DJI's explanation bear any resemblence to each other.
Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

2017-3-19
Use props
hoang2010
lvl.1
Flight distance : 59236 ft
Vietnam

After updating the lastest fw, my battery have deviation cell. don't know why
2017-3-19
Use props
fanse60fa0d7
lvl.2
  • >>>
Australia

Perhaps deviated cell after firmware update was the real reason for the crash. I certainly wasn't manipulating the controls as they say. I was flying in a straight line!
It seems DJI play loose with the truth.
2017-3-20
Use props
Quamera
lvl.2
Australia

That is very strange language from DJI. I can only assume "elevator" is pitch with the right stick although there is nothing resembling an elevator on a Phantom. The difficulty there is that "elevator down" on a fixed wing will kick the tail up and push the nose down (so a dive) but pulling the right stick down/back on a Phantom will pitch its nose up and effectively put on the air brakes before the AC goes backwards (if the stick is held back).