Satellite positionning off warning. Any idea? Help please?
2552 7 2017-4-8
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
fans5c3ae9aa
lvl.1
Barbados

Hello,
I am a pro photographer using phantoms for several years and by know i think i am fairly advanced user. Today I stumbled on an error or warning, which forced me to not do my job. I am on a location, photographing  kite surfers in a high wind, using my new P4P.
This new drone performed well (if you don't count crashing DJI4 Go app which is annoying when you are in rhe air, working).
Yesterday I had all systems ok  and able to fly in high winds. Today, not changing anything at all -  i brought my drone to shore to work - and it told me it is ready to fly in VISION mode only. Satellite positionning off. it said. But I had a max in satellite count, 17 or 18 at times. the little logo showing no problem with satellites. Yet - it keep saying positioning is off. i waited for a long time, restarted everything, and the same problem. I had to abandon my flight as very high, gusty winds over ocean can be a tricky thing without GPS, whe i need to concentrate on best shots, not on keeping drone in stable position.

couple of hours later, in a slightly different place I tried again - and immediately had green Ready to Go GPS mode message. I flu up, and all was well, but couple of times for a brief moment it changed to the same message "Satellite Positioning off, fly with caution". Any idea why would that be? i am in barbados - a super flat terrain with no interference, plenty of satellite signal.
It makes my new drone not reliable for work. any ideas/suggestions would be much appreciated.
Thanks and cheers to the group.
Derek

2017-4-8
Use props
Aeromirage
First Officer
Flight distance : 1778045 ft
  • >>>
United States

You are sure you didn't accidentally switch it to S mode?
2017-4-8
Use props
Labroides
Core User of DJI
Flight distance : 9991457 ft
  • >>>
Australia

Aeromirage Posted at 2017-4-8 15:05