Mavic Pro, Locked Up+Lost connection = Crash
1827 20 2017-4-12
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Brody
lvl.1
Australia

So I am the prowd new owner of a Mavic Pro... Once I'd read the manuals, charged the batteries, Registered the drone and familiarised myself with the controls I had decided it was time to get in the air so I traveled to my local park with a nice open grass field (trees spotted around the edge).

I set the GPS Home position and took off, Is I am new to fly this type of craft (Have flown RC Heli's) I decided to stay between 2-5m for most of the time and just fly back and forth executing turns and other simple manuvers.

After maybe 10-20 minutes of flight it locked up, Lost connection with the RC (Input was unresponsive) and took off full speed away from the home possition. Scared as hell I ran after it and noticed it was headed directly for one of those trees I had mentioned before. The direct hit with the tree managed to flip the craft upsidedown and it plumeted for the road at the edge of the field. Landing upside down and still full throttle it was going balistic on the ground, I had to pick it up still full throttle the props busted up my hands pretty good (Plenty of blood blisters), It seemed the button on the battery was unresponsive after multiple trys I finally decided to remove the battery (I have read the manual where it says not to do this but there was no other option).

Over all the damage doesn't seem too bad (Was expecting much worse). The gimbal has broken off its mount but is still hanging on by the wires as well as Props and arms are all scratched to hell.

Has anyone else had this happen? What is the cause? As it was not user error am I right in thinking repair/replacement should be covered by warranty?
2017-4-12
Use props
KENSY
lvl.2
Flight distance : 10696 ft
United States

You didn't mention if you did any calibrations first, IMU, compass etc. I would upload the flight data so it can be looked at.
2017-4-12