1512 32 2015-3-2
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Arrow1969
Second Officer
Flight distance : 400577 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

I started flying RC helicopters in the 70s before stabillization of any kind, who is is from thet era and is still flying.
2015-3-2
Use props
mattks
lvl.2

South Africa

Well after stabilization, been flying for 9 to 10 years now. Playing with phantoms and inspires for fun

Prior to heli's was flying planks since the 80's
2015-3-2
Use props
Arrow1969
Second Officer
  • >>>
United Kingdom

mattks Posted at 2015-3-2 19:19
Well after stabilization, been flying for 9 to 10 years now. Playing with phantoms and inspires for  ...

They are so much easier to fly now, only problems is the complexity of the software too many settings lots of people seem to have problems updating firmware.

I had been flying for about 5 years before the first gyro came in.  
2015-3-2
Use props
mattks
lvl.2

South Africa

Some of the controller units are a bugger to master. Some are very intuitive. But like most things, you get what you pay for.

As for flying, yup, the new controllers take a lot of the work of your hands. As for the quads, they are not really about the flying in my opinion, more about the creativity that lies within your reach.

Just out of curiosity, what heli setups are you flying?
2015-3-2
Use props
Dave E
lvl.4
Flight distance : 729560 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

I started flying mid 80's before gyros. The most technical thing we had was REVO mixing in the high end transmitters. Remember crystals?
2015-3-2
Use props
Dave E
lvl.4
  • >>>
United Kingdom

I flew my heli a few weeks ago after flying only quads for a while. Conclusion...... quads make you lazy!!!!!. I had lost the fine subtle inputs for the heli that the quad does on its own. It soon came back however. I agree with matt. From a flying perspective I prefer the heli and even fixed wing but I absolutely love the aerial video side of quads.  
2015-3-2
Use props
bubo_bubo
lvl.3