14361 12 2017-4-13
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Thomas Valdez
New
Flight distance : 5607 ft
United States

DJI Team,

Can you inform us what the regulations are for  Batteries to be on a plane. Do we need to have this in Carry on only or can this be in our regular baggage. does this meet the US requierments for flying. Do they have to be in any special packaging in order to be on store away luggage? Thanks for the Quick response. Im new to DJI and im excited to take it to Ireland.
2017-4-13
Use props
HFMan
lvl.2
Flight distance : 882106 ft
United States

No Lithium Ion or Polymer batteries in checked luggage... they MUST be carried on.
2017-4-13
Use props
WolfgangStiller
lvl.4
Flight distance : 599416 ft
United States

It's generally recommended to discharge the batteries to at least 50% (one airline reportedly wants 30% but I'd do 50 unless someone insists).  It's also a good idea to make sure the terminals are covered by covering with electrical tape and maybe a plastic bag or container for the battery.
2017-4-13
Use props
dronist
Second Officer
  • >>>
United States

All batteries must in carry on, 50% discharged. I also use  a plastic cover to cover the battery contact port and put them in a lipo fire retardant bag.

Better be safe then sorry!
2017-4-13
Use props
K6-Prefix
lvl.1
United States

WolfgangStiller Posted at 2017-4-13 11:14
It's generally recommended to discharge the batteries to at least 50% (one airline reportedly wants 30% but I'd do 50 unless someone insists).  It's also a good idea to make sure the terminals are covered by covering with electrical tape and maybe a plastic bag or container for the battery.

How come only 50%? Why not just discharge it completely?
2017-4-13
Use props
PizzaFiend
lvl.3
Flight distance : 1489593 ft
United States

Here are the FAA guidelines: Pack Safe - Lithium ion and lithium metal batteries, spare (uninstalled)
2017-4-13
Use props
manfredo
lvl.3
Flight distance : 1891142 ft
  • >>>
United States