Mavic Pro Intelligent Flight Battery Balancing
8750 14 2017-5-8
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
KloppKopp
lvl.1
Germany

Ho everyone,

I have my Mavic Pro for two days now and am very impressed.

In addition to the Mavic I also bought one additional flight battery pack.

After first charging of this additional pack, the third LED was flashing twice per second. OK, as per manual that means overcharging. I hooked it up to the Mavic and checked the battery status. Indeed, one cell had 4,31V and the other two had 4,21V.

My question is: How can this happen? I would expect the "intelligent" flight battery to balance the cells while charging. I have been flighing model airplains for a couple of years now and always charge my lipos with balancers that ensure balance of all chells stays within 0,01V.

Is my new battery pack defect? Should I return it?

Thanks for your time and answers.
2017-5-8
Use props
dronist
Second Officer
  • >>>
United States

You can try discharging it by using it in a low attitude, 5', keep it close to you to make sure it is OK. Then recharge it again. If you still have a difference, you can return it. Batteries have 6 month warranty.
2017-5-8
Use props
Bradders
lvl.4
Flight distance : 862283 ft
United Kingdom

I would send the battery back if one of the cells is .1V out from the others... hopefully you did not purchase the battery from DJI direct because it will probably take you 2 months for replacement, DJI support is rubbish
2017-5-8
Use props
DJI Mindy
Administrator
Flight distance : 7 ft
  • >>>

Please try with dronist's advice and keep us posted.
2017-5-9
Use props
KloppKopp
lvl.1
Germany

DJI Mindy Posted at 2017-5-9 00:24
Please try with dronist's advice and keep us posted.

I tried loading and hoovering down to 30-50% three times. No luck. The imbalance and the loading error remained.
IMG_0438.jpg

I now sent it in via my dealer. Keep you posted.

2017-5-16
Use props
DJI Mindy
Administrator
Flight distance : 7 ft
  • >>>