Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Help! I Almost Lost My Drone Today
2020 10 2017-5-9
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
CraigArtzner
lvl.2
United States

I have been flying my DJI Phantom 3 Standard drone for several months with great success, but today I finally tried on of the Intelligent Mode features, namely the "Point of Interest" function. It was easy to set up and I had the drone circle my house. It went around almost 2 full times when I then decided to take over and land it. Since the drone had been doing so well, I stopped watching the display screen on my phone and apparently the drone became disconnected (the green bar had turned gray at the top of the display screen and read "disconnected").

At first it seemed like I could control the drone to bring it down but it still seemed to want to either continue in it's Point of Interest orbit, or something else. I tried hitting the little stop sign icon that allows you to end the Point of Interest function, but since the drone was disconnected, it didn't have any effect. But the whole time the joysticks would still move the drone in different directions, but when I let off it would make it's own movements (would not hover in place). So with no camera connection I'm trying desperately to bring the drone back to me as it began flying away over trees at the edge of my property. I finally was able to bring it close enough to pull a controlled crash landing and luckily nothing was damaged but man that was scary!

So long story short, when your drone becomes "disconnected" is there a way to get out of Intelligent Mode since the DJI app appears to be rendered useless? Could I have just flipped S1 or something to regain control (I was too frazzled in the moment to think of trying this).

Thanks in advance.
2017-5-9
Use props
Betamace
lvl.4
Flight distance : 2133 ft
United States