Inspire flying around an uncontrolled airport
2674 12 2015-3-9
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
kmedmd
lvl.1

United States

In AK there are an amazing amount of small aircraft hubs. Add to that, endless gravel bars, lakes, rivers, etc. that act as bush plane landing and take off areas.  I can't help but think that it is going to take a lot of common sense over actual regulations/rules to prevent accidents here.  I am a new Inspire owner, and I am also a Cessna pilot.  I have one toe in each world and in certain scenarios I find myself torn, in terms of what I think should be "regulated" when it comes to these things.  Today I realized that regardless of rules, or even common sense, there will still be those who will do what they wish, no matter the safety concerns.  I watched a new Inspire fly around just below the pattern altitude of a small aircraft Seaplane base today, and it gave me a sinking sense of illness.  I have set up to land on that very path several times. The pilot left before I had the chance to chat with him, so I thought to post here:  If you were the guy flying your Inspire along the North side of Campbel Lake today (an active Seaplane base), please consider the risks involved with what you were doing, the lives you put in jeopardy, and next time, fly elsewhere.
On a lighter note, what ideas do others have about helping to curb scenarios such as these?  Minimum distances away from aircraft, self-reporting of drone flight activity via Common Traffic Advisory Frequencies (CTAF) when near any uncontrolled airport?

Thanks

2015-3-9
Use props
Dangair
lvl.4

Canada