Programming API?
6742 14 2014-10-11
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
SPlatten
New

United Kingdom

Hello,

I am a professional software engineer.  I am involved in a project that may utilise a Phantom 2 Quadcopter.  At the moment its very early stages and I cannot say much about the project, however I would like to be able to create a flight path by creating waypoints automatically and uploading these to the Phantom 2.

Is there a Programming API available that details the protocol and how to upload information to the Phantom 2?

Thank you,

Kind Regards,
Simon Platten

2014-10-11
Use props
jmtw000
lvl.3

United States

I too would love to see an API for the Phantom. Unfortunately, I don't think it exists (publically). I've been thinking about possibly getting a packet capture while uploading a mission to the Phantom and seeing if I could reverse engineer the protocol, but that will take a lot of time
2014-10-11
Use props
ianwood
lvl.4
Flight distance : 5236 ft
  • >>>
United States

Simon, have you had a poke around the bootloader?

jmtw000, there's some useful information on the CAN bus on rcgroups. CAN injection would be something I am particularly interested in.
2014-10-11
Use props
SPlatten
New

United Kingdom

Thanks for the replies.

@ianwood, no I haven't, It uses CAN bus?
I implemented CAN bus in a subsea control system years ago, nasty protocol, very small payload, used commonly in automation industry.  Do you have any links?

Found this:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2125567

@jmtw000, I don't have a Phantom 2 yet, hoping to get at least one purchased by the company, if not I will probably treat myself for Xmas
Could use Ethereal or Wireshart to sniff the protocol, although if its a binary protocol like CAN some kindness on the encoding would be extremly helpful.

2014-10-11
Use props
ianwood
lvl.4
Flight distance : 5236 ft
  • >>>
United States

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2071772
2014-10-12
Use props