Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
No video or battery info on GO app
790 4 2017-6-11
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
BMelody
lvl.4
Flight distance : 3146 ft
United States

OK here goes. I’m a newbie to the forum, be gentle. It took me forever to figure out how to generate a post. I have been lurking for a long time. Lots of great info here for sure.

Here is my issue; I have a P3A and it has been great until now. I started having a video dropout problem lately. The video link would freeze and the screen would go to black and white. It would then recover and I would get the video back. I noticed when it is cooler outside I never had any video dropouts. I decided it was a heat issue so I ran the unit indoors (no prop but motors not turning) and within several minutes the video dropped out. I put a small fan dear the gimbal board and the video came back and remained for 15-20 minutes. So I turned off the fan and several minutes later the video dropped out again. Turned the fan back on and after approx. 30 seconds the video returned and ran for another 10 minutes or so. At that point I was sure I had a heat issue.

After some research I found an article about video freezing on a P3A and he discovered there is a quad flat pack IC on the gimbal control board and a heatsink block on the heatsink itself but DJI did not install a heat conducting pad at this location. This person added a piece of heat conducting pad to the chip and corrected his heat problem. So I decided I needed to make this mod to my board.

I made the mod to the camera and reassembled it. It powered up normally and I had video. Several seconds later the video link was lost. I have been able to get the video back. In addition the lost video there are several other things I don’t quite understand.

1.     The DJI GO app now sees my P3A as a P3P and will not let me change it to a standard.