Launching from boat help
1273 8 2017-6-20
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
bdawk2065
New

United States

I am fairly new to the drone world, purchased my Mavic about 4 months ago and have about 15-20 flights with no issues until now. I recently had my drone out on my parents boat and thought it would be cool to get some footage. I thought I would launch it from the bow and just go straight up until I was clear and then do my thing. This is a 50' boat so there is ample room on the bow to launch/land. The boat was moving about 1-2 mph at this point but I did not think that would be an issue, so I went to launch the drone. The second I was in the air the drone tilted (as if I was full backward stick) and crashed right into the windsheild and landed on the top of the boat thankfully. This all happened in a matter of seconds. My first thought was maybe since the boat was moving that it threw something off. So now with the boat stopped I tried launching again. This time I was standing directly behind it, I took off and it did the same exact thing. Full tilt this thing comes at me, luckily I was able to smack it out of the air with only a few minor cuts on my leg. So I figured it would probably be a good idea to figure out wtf is going on with this thing before I loose it in the Chesapeake. Now I am afraid to take it off on the boat.

I have since flown twice over land with no issues. If someone could give me some insight into what the hell happened that would be great.

2017-6-20
Use props
anthonyb
lvl.4
Flight distance : 486381 ft
New Zealand

It's because the forward sensors are avoiding a crash.  You need to takeoff facing the other way.  Also do a hand launch and be 100% sure the engines are at idle.  I've done a bunch of launches off boats now but learnt the hard way too.
2017-6-20
Use props
hallmark007
Captain
Flight distance : 9827923 ft
  • >>>
Ireland