Phantom 3 Standard - Firmware - Is it a must?
2421 7 2017-6-27
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Lowspark420
lvl.1
United States

I am a newbie to the drone world (other than flying cheap plastic drones in my past). I've only had my drone for a few weeks, but I LOVE it. I am not overly tech savy...I've noticed on the app on my phone the firmware update notice. Is this required to do? What happens if I don't do the update? I'm also a little confused of exactly how to do it. All I have been doing with my drone far are practice test flights and taking pictures/video. I've only taken it up to 400' and I have gotten it moving to about 25mph.

Any advice would be appreciate. Thanks in advance...
2017-6-27
Use props
Labroides
Core User of DJI
Flight distance : 9991457 ft
  • >>>
Australia

"What happens if I don't do the update? "
You keep flying just like you did yesterday.
2017-6-27
Use props
Uncle Stumpy
lvl.3
Flight distance : 140315 ft
United States

You will get alot more replies but I keep hearing about problems after the download.
Personally, I am going to keep flying without the update until I hear good things.
2017-6-27
Use props
fanscba0e5b3
New
United States

update sucks I can't change my altitude.dont have all the numbers on the screen to change it. stuck at 120m . plus I'm always getting a compass error
2017-6-27
Use props
Lowspark420
lvl.1
United States

Well prior to reading any of these replies and doing further reading on the forum I realized I could do the FW update directly from my wifi and the DJI app...it took about 10 minutes, no issues and did a flight shortly after and all seemed fine...
2017-6-27
Use props
Daveb500
lvl.3
Flight distance : 191742 ft
United Kingdom

Lowspark420 Posted at 2017-6-27 17:35