Ronin-M Intelligent Battery 3400mAh curved/swollen?
2742 3 2017-7-14
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Sevenblade
lvl.1
Netherlands

Hi,

I was wondering, in recent months I've been seeing somewhat of a curve on my DJI Ronin-M 3400 mAh battery (old model). Last weekend someone said to me that it's not good for Lipo batteries.

It's just slightly curved, on both sides, and the battery is still usable and chargeable. But I've googled for this issue on DJI batteries. All I can find are results for Lipo batteries that only have a soft "bag-like" shell, that's swollen like a balloon. The Ronin-M batteries are made of hard plastic. Can I assume the insides are swollen, when the outsides are slightly curved?

I have no technical knowledge of (Lipo) batteries. My knowledge goes as far as, if it stops working, not charging, leaking or rusty, the battery is dead, and needs to be replaced. I've never heard of batteries looking perfectly fine, without indication of it being broken, and then just might "go boom".

Which brings me to my next question: if my DJI battery is indeed swollen inside, what harm can it do? Will it actually go "boom" while using or recharging the battery? I always thought batteries would just lose their charge and die. It's a bit scary to think that certain batteries can just explode while using it, without actually knowing that it needed to be replaced...

Some people, like me, don't know anything about technical batteries specifics. I've never seen batteries leak, only batteries with some sort of corrosion, and whenever my batteries were broken, they would be dead, as in, have no charge, unable to recharge, unusable. This will be the first battery that I've seen that's usable until the point it would maybe "explode"?