Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
I can trigger an uncontrolled descent
2061 26 2017-8-2
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Charles Adams
First Officer
Flight distance : 3821312 ft
  • >>>
United States

I have no idea if my experience has anything to do with the concerns and complaints of other people, but I thought I would share it.  I must say that "uncontrolled" doesn't mean "crash".  It just means that I did not use the sticks to perform the maneuver.

I am able to cause my spark to descend to the ground without me having caused the maneuver using the sticks.  I am able to consistently cause the spark to do this.  The first time it happened shocked me.  With some persistance, I was able to figure out how to duplicate the maneuver.

I was experimenting with the obstacle avoidance, using my house as the obstacle.  When I flew backwards (away from the house) I was JUST flying backwards on the sticks.  I was not changing elevation.  Never the less, the drone flew backwards and also rapidly descended, until it hit the ground.  It bounced right back up, and it was not hard enough to cause damage.  When I flew forward, towards the house, it did the opposite...  it ascended upwards without using the sticks.  Needless to say, the first occurrence shocked me, as I was not making any adjustments to elevation.

I turned the spark 90 degrees so that I was no longer facing an obstacle, and I flew the drone back and forth.  It stayed level (no unwanted ascent or descent).  I turned it back towards the house, and sure enough flying towards the house also caused the drone to elevate, and backing away from the house caused the drone to descend.  Numerous times I had to throttle "up" to prevent contact with the ground, but I allowed it to touch down a few more times to see if it would make ground contact, and it did.