Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Almost lost my Mavic Pro yesterday
1480 16 2017-8-6
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
kirkbauer
lvl.1
United States

I'm very new to drones, with this being my first serious purchase. I have had the Mavic Pro for about a month now. I took it out on the lake for my second time yesterday and learned a valuable lesson about watching my altitude. Normally the drone maintains its altitude very well so I completely wasn't paying any attention to how high I was, but if you watch in the video (at the 30-32s mark) you'll see that the drone was slowly descending and got uncomfortably close to the water.

(apparently I need to learn how to upload in 4K)

Now, I'm guessing this was because I had it in sports mode and/or was going max speed, but I'd love to get some confirmation on that. If I know when the altitude might not be maintained I can be more vigilant in the future at keeping an eye on it.
2017-8-6
Use props
kirkbauer
lvl.1
United States

Hmm, well now it is in 4K. It must have taken a few minutes I guess.
2017-8-6
Use props
Bekaru Tree
Captain
Flight distance : 15513100 ft
South Africa

Looks like this was manually flown vs active track?
If manual flown then my guess is that your left stick was very slightly down of centre caused inadvertently when you were very carefully keeping the flight line straight.

4k looks great - if you gonna fly so low to water you must keep an eye on altitude as yr most important referance data.
Maybe do some low alt practice runs over grass to get more of a feel for this kind of flying
Dont drown yr drone

2017-8-6
Use props
kirkbauer
lvl.1
United States

Yes, manually flown. Can active track go close to 40mph? I guess it can. I would love to use Active Track but I don't think it will be able to start a lock on the person in the water and maintain that lock after they get up, and especially not with the spray of water blocking its vision.