RC - Inspire 1 Comms Issues - Problem Solved
894 4 2017-8-16
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
John Guild
lvl.1
Flight distance : 33120 ft
United States

Below I outline my recent communication issue between my RC and my Inspire 1, and what I did to resolved it.   Maybe this story will help someone avoid this issue.

I've got nearly 100 flights, over a two year period, with my Inspire 1 and have had no issues.  One week ago I found I had a comms problem; the DJI app indicated 'disconnect'.  After resolving this issue I now strongly suspected it was a electo-mag inference problem.   However, it took me several frustrating days to figure it out    Here is my story.  

I'm an artist with a studio packed with computer equipment and multiple large screen monitors.  Before flying my Inspire 1, my usual routine is to do a few preliminary checks in my studio then move to the field to do final checks and fly.  I've been doing this over a  two year period without an issue.  After not flying my drone for a month I decided last week I would fly it.  I attempted to complete my usual preliminary checks in my studio but I kept getting a 'Disconnect' reading; I could not get the RC to communicate with the Inspire 1.   I researched various forums on this issue and struggled to establish comms but had no success.    Finally, after reading a fourm on electro-mag interference, I performed the preliminary checks outdoors.   And guess what, it passed my checks; there was good comms between the RC and the Inspire 1.