Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Compass calibration
8935 33 2017-8-21
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Seanmcfc
lvl.1
Flight distance : 2713 ft
United Kingdom

Hi Guys, can anyone help with the compass on the Phanton 4.only had it aweek and every tutorial I watch suggests calibration of the compass, even DJIs
Tutorial shows this,
My problem is I have no (calibration ) option against the compass, it just indicates normal.
Will this function appear if the compass needs calibrating or should it always be there as an option?

Thanks in advance, complete newbie
2017-8-21
Use props
ALABAMA
Second Officer
Flight distance : 10442687 ft
United States

It should tell you on status bar if it needs to be calibrated,  If it's flying fine with no warnings you should be good.
2017-8-21
Use props
Seanmcfc
lvl.1
United Kingdom

Thanks Alabama, just a bit concerned that I couldn't calibrate it
2017-8-21
Use props
PaulSouthport
lvl.4
Flight distance : 1448799 ft
United Kingdom

If you need to calibrate (for example, if the app tells you to, or you get odd flight behaviour such as toilet bowl in a hover), go to Main Controller Settings/Advanced Settings/Sensors and click the compass button
2017-8-21
Use props
Seanmcfc
lvl.1
United Kingdom

Thanks Paul, I will look at that,
2017-8-21
Use props
Seanmcfc
lvl.1
United Kingdom

On the DJI tutorial on YouTube it's shows the mode switch on the RC being moved back and forth 10 times to force a compass calibration, I don't really want to try that if I don't need to.
2017-8-21
Use props
PaulSouthport
lvl.4
Flight distance : 1448799 ft
United Kingdom

That was the method on earlier Phantoms, I don't know if it still works on the P4 (not saying it doesn't, just haven't tried) - the app is a better place to do it, it gives instructions and feedback
2017-8-21
Use props
ATJ
First Officer
Flight distance : 17736 ft
United States

Seanmcfc Posted at 2017-8-21 08:01