Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
How do you transfer your photos from the drone ?
78467 35 2017-8-24
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Robhulford
lvl.1

United Kingdom
Offline

Another newbie question. Is there a preferred method for transfering your footage from the drone to device ? Do you remove your micro SD cards, or connect the cable from the
drone to your USB-in on your device or is there a Wifi transferal option i've overlooked in the set up ?   Would be useful to know what's most popular/practical.

Thanks
2017-8-24
Use props
dojoman
lvl.4
Flight distance : 64865 ft
United States
Offline

Best way is to take out mSD card then transfer it to computer. I don't like direct usb connect since you need to turn on aircraft.
2017-8-24
Use props
Montfrooij
Captain
Flight distance : 1915335 ft
Netherlands
Offline

On the other hand, all this fiddling with micro sd cards is also a bit of a hussle.
2017-8-24
Use props
PascalG
lvl.4
Flight distance : 214455 ft
United States
Offline

Much easier and quicker to take out the card and plug it in a laptop or card to lighting reader for ipad
2017-8-24
Use props
Jimmers
Second Officer
Flight distance : 49623 ft
United States
Offline

As others have said, I remove the SD card from the Spark and pop it into my computer.
2017-8-24
Use props
ix3lplix
lvl.3
Flight distance : 145843 ft
United States
Offline

I use a card reader as well. The only disadvantage is that you still have to connect to the aircraft for panoramas and shallow focus.
2017-8-24
Use props
TMUSVI
lvl.3
Flight distance : 228891 ft
U.S. Virgin Islands
Offline

ix3lplix Posted at 2017-8-24 14:26
I use a card reader as well. The only disadvantage is that you still have to connect to the aircraft for panoramas and shallow focus.

i use Microsoft ice for panos its easy and you do it on computer its free
2017-8-24
Use props
Charles Adams
Second Officer
Flight distance : 294528 ft
United States
Offline

TMUSVI Posted at 2017-8-24 16:09
i use Microsoft ice for panos its easy and you do it on computer its free

Ditto on Microsoft Ice.  And I too pull the card and use a card reader.
2017-8-24
Use props
DJI Diana
Administrator
Flight distance : 2408 ft

Online

What kind of device are you referring to, computer or mobile device? I always connect a USB cable from the drone to the computer. I also download the original images and videos from the drone to my phone via APP, I think this is very convenient.
2017-8-25
Use props
S-e-ven
Captain
Flight distance : 5759259 ft
Thailand
Offline

Thev usb connection is so slow.
I use SD Card in Cardreader @ Computer
2017-8-25
Use props
Dirk52
First Officer
Flight distance : 226257 ft
  • >>>
Germany
Offline

I use an adapter to import videos and a great number of photos to my iPad/iPhone. When I just need a few photos or short quickshot video I copy them via wifi at the end of the flight.
2017-8-25
Use props
Robhulford
lvl.1

United Kingdom
Offline

Ah... how do you set up say an iPhone to facilitate the transfer from the mavik using Wifi ?
2017-8-25
Use props
Dirk52
First Officer
Flight distance : 226257 ft
  • >>>
Germany
Offline

Robhulford Posted at 2017-8-25 03:35
Ah... how do you set up say an iPhone to facilitate the transfer from the mavik using Wifi ?

In the cameraview press the small Play button. Select your files and press the downarrow to download in full res.
OR
In the Dji Go App 4 connected to the drone go to:
Editor
Press the downarrow in the top left Corner
Click On-board SD
Select files and download.
2017-8-25
Use props
vasi
lvl.2
Flight distance : 16099 ft

United Kingdom
Offline

ix3lplix Posted at 2017-8-24 14:26
I use a card reader as well. The only disadvantage is that you still have to connect to the aircraft for panoramas and shallow focus.

Do not create panos, HDR etc in the app. It is good to check how was the shot, but it reduces the resolution a lot! As others said, transfer the pics and create the pano/HDR on PC with a 3rd party sw.
2017-8-25
Use props
S-e-ven
Captain
Flight distance : 5759259 ft
Thailand
Offline

Robhulford Posted at 2017-8-25 03:35
Ah... how do you set up say an iPhone to facilitate the transfer from the mavik using Wifi ?

Mavic? Wrong forum, maybe?
2017-8-25
Use props
Dirk52
First Officer
Flight distance : 226257 ft
  • >>>
Germany
Offline

S-e-ven Posted at 2017-8-25 04:16
Mavic? Wrong forum, maybe?

It's the same for Mavic and Spark.
2017-8-25
Use props
Charles Adams
Second Officer
Flight distance : 294528 ft
United States
Offline

DJI Diana Posted at 2017-8-25 03:02
What kind of device are you referring to, computer or mobile device? I always connect a USB cable from the drone to the computer. I also download the original images and videos from the drone to my phone via APP, I think this is very convenient.

DJI Diana...  do you own one or more drones, and fly?  If so, that's awesome!  A lot of moderators on a lot of forums don't actually have familiarity with the products, and just stick with scripts.  It would be comforting to know that DJI Moderators are themselves drone users.
2017-8-25
Use props
HomePoint
First Officer
Flight distance : 474304 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom
Offline

Charles Adams Posted at 2017-8-25 04:36
DJI Diana...  do you own one or more drones, and fly?  If so, that's awesome!  A lot of moderators on a lot of forums don't actually have familiarity with the products, and just stick with scripts.  It would be comforting to know that DJI Moderators are themselves drone users.

DJI Diana is Wonder Woman, I see that from her picture.  
Wonder Woman probably flies with the drones  
2017-8-25
Use props
vasi
lvl.2
Flight distance : 16099 ft

Switzerland
Offline

Sorry for the offtopic, but I do not know where to ask and also do not want to create a new thread..
So, how do you set to show your DJI devices under the "flight distance" here in the forum?
I checked every settings in the forum and DJI GO and could not find such option. Thanks
2017-8-25
Use props
S-e-ven
Captain
Flight distance : 5759259 ft
Thailand
Offline

no idea, it was there, after I opened the account.
I think its linked to the app by the email, perhaps?
2017-8-25
Use props
FatherXmas
Captain
Flight distance : 4058619 ft
  • >>>
United States
Offline

ix3lplix Posted at 2017-8-24 14:26
I use a card reader as well. The only disadvantage is that you still have to connect to the aircraft for panoramas and shallow focus.

You shouldn't have to do that. The pano photos are in a separate folder from the regular photos on the card called pano or something similar (do not remember but it was obvious).
2017-8-25
Use props
lafoto
Second Officer
Flight distance : 1402680 ft
Portugal
Offline

My way... Take out the microSD card and then transfer it to a computer... Is the best way...
2017-8-25
Use props
ix3lplix
lvl.3
Flight distance : 145843 ft
United States
Offline

FatherXmas Posted at 2017-8-25 14:19
You shouldn't have to do that. The pano photos are in a separate folder from the regular photos on the card called pano or something similar (do not remember but it was obvious).

Yes it does, but it does not automatically generate a stitched photo of all of them together. You need to connect to the Spark for that.

Granted, it's better to do the stitching of the photo on your computer so you can get the full resolution of the pano but that requires additional software.
2017-8-25
Use props
FatherXmas
Captain
Flight distance : 4058619 ft
  • >>>
United States
Offline

ix3lplix Posted at 2017-8-25 15:47
Yes it does, but it does not automatically generate a stitched photo of all of them together. You need to connect to the Spark for that.

Granted, it's better to do the stitching of the photo on your computer so you can get the full resolution of the pano but that requires additional software.

I did not know that, always import everything to Lightroom and do all the stitching there.
2017-8-25
Use props
Robhulford
lvl.1

United Kingdom
Offline

Dirk52 Posted at 2017-8-25 03:40
In the cameraview press the small Play button. Select your files and press the downarrow to download in full res.
OR
In the Dji Go App 4 connected to the drone go to:

Thanks for this. I presume you have to keep your Drone switched on and connect to the controller to enable the Wifi transfer ?
2017-8-26
Use props
Robhulford
lvl.1

United Kingdom
Offline

DJI Diana Posted at 2017-8-25 03:02
What kind of device are you referring to, computer or mobile device? I always connect a USB cable from the drone to the computer. I also download the original images and videos from the drone to my phone via APP, I think this is very convenient.

Mavic Pro, Diana.
2017-8-26
Use props
Didiko
First Officer
Flight distance : 18399 ft
Belgium
Offline

vasi Posted at 2017-8-25 05:17
Sorry for the offtopic, but I do not know where to ask and also do not want to create a new thread..
So, how do you set to show your DJI devices under the "flight distance" here in the forum?
I checked every settings in the forum and DJI GO and could not find such option. Thanks

Hello,

this is done by syncing your account in the DJI GO4 App while connected to the internet.

Then you have a small "cloud" symbol to synchronise your data with DJI.

Hope this helps.
2017-8-26
Use props
S-e-ven
Captain
Flight distance : 5759259 ft
Thailand
Offline

ix3lplix Posted at 2017-8-25 15:47
Yes it does, but it does not automatically generate a stitched photo of all of them together. You need to connect to the Spark for that.

Granted, it's better to do the stitching of the photo on your computer so you can get the full resolution of the pano but that requires additional software.

Get yourself
DJI Media Maker
2017-8-26
Use props
S-e-ven
Captain
Flight distance : 5759259 ft
Thailand
Offline

FatherXmas Posted at 2017-8-25 14:19
You shouldn't have to do that. The pano photos are in a separate folder from the regular photos on the card called pano or something similar (do not remember but it was obvious).

You shouldn't probably do that (stitching them together with go 4 app) at all.
At least on Android, the folders, 2 for each pano, one with the 9 or 21 pics, one with the stitched pano, are spoiling the gallery!
I know, its a android problem, most galleries can't deal with folders/subfolders.
They find a picture in a folder, they show it.
I know also, quick pic can deal with it, but:

How about DJI is finding/creating  a folder structure, ONE main folder for DJI products, and in the subfolder ONLY ONE folder for all the stitched/downloaded Pictures.
All other folders, with the 9/21 pano-needed captured pics, in folders with a .nomedia-file include
And/Or maybe a own gallery, only/on top, in the DJI app, for ONLY DJI pictures
With moving option to user set folders?
After some batteries of flighing, stitching some pictures and downloading em to the phone:
panorama.jpg

That is really not needed, I think!
2017-8-27
Use props
DJI Diana
Administrator
Flight distance : 2408 ft

Online

Charles Adams Posted at 2017-8-25 04:36
DJI Diana...  do you own one or more drones, and fly?  If so, that's awesome!  A lot of moderators on a lot of forums don't actually have familiarity with the products, and just stick with scripts.  It would be comforting to know that DJI Moderators are themselves drone users.

I do have drones, Mavic and Spark. Besides, we have lots of DJI drones in our office, like Phantom series, Inspire series, etc. We often fly them.
2017-8-28
Use props
Atlanta Falcon
lvl.1
Flight distance : 72877 ft

United States
Offline

The struggle to move raw video data from a card reader, straight into an iPad Pro, is like pulling teeth. These things should play nicer together. They’re “Field Devices”.

Why do we need to bring Macs/PC’s into this? It’s just raw data. Send it!
2018-3-3
Use props
Hallmark001
Second Officer
Flight distance : 74213 ft
Italy
Offline

Yes agree. We need to be able to send raw files out from the drone much easier than today. Why can we just rip them via wi-fi to iPad for example. No need for any other app. Today its frustration maxed out. We shouldnt need a pc / Mac to do a backup on whats on the sd card.
2018-8-3
Use props
Hallmark001
Second Officer
Flight distance : 74213 ft
Italy
Offline

Try moving 3000 raw image  files from a SD card to IPad using DG app. It just isnt possible. The app cant handle large amount of image file. If your into aerial mapping the. Your Screwed big time.
2018-8-3
Use props
DJI Natalia
Administrator

Offline

Hallmark001 Posted at 2018-8-3 11:21
Yes agree. We need to be able to send raw files out from the drone much easier than today. Why can we just rip them via wi-fi to iPad for example. No need for any other app. Today its frustration maxed out. We shouldnt need a pc / Mac to do a backup on whats on the sd card.

Hi. We understand your frustration. Rest assured that we will address this idea to our R&D department for further update. Thank you.
2018-8-3
Use props
Rotor Blades
lvl.1
Flight distance : 126716 ft

United States
Offline

Remove SD card load into your computer
7-24 15:50
Use props
Jim Lewis
lvl.2

United States
Offline

With a Mavic 2 Pro, one can use a USB-C to USB-C cable between drone and computer and the transfer is VERY fast.  For me, the question is which port might I wear out first by plugging/unplugging card or cable continually from drone??? (I guess if one goes, I still have the other).  By using the USB-C connection, I don't have to fiddle with a teeny-tiny microSD card and the microSD card inherently seems a lot more flimsy than my rugged USB-C cable (one end of which I always leave plugged into my computer).  I do have to remove the gimbal cover, unfold the drone, put a battery in if I've removed it for charging, etc.  But I hate tiny microSD cards!  (And I have to at least unfold the drone with props still on to get at the microSD card, too).
8-4 15:42
Use props
Advanced
You need to log in before you can reply Login | Register now

Credit Rules