DJI Go4 App for Android - Fixed spelling/grammar
3985 24 2017-8-26
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
M1dn1ght N1nj4
lvl.3
Flight distance : 11522 ft
United States

I'm an Android developer, mostly of custom ROMs.  I just purchased a DJI Spark, and I'm currently waiting on it to arrive this coming Tuesday.

I decompile APKs all the time, so of course, the DJI app didn't go unnoticed.  Well, as it turns out, I could compress the collective of PNG images down to ~2.3MB SMALLER than the stock app.

Also, the /res/values/strings.xml, where essentially all the user-readable text is stored, needed to be spell checked.  And man was there a LOT wrong.  I didn't count exactly, but somwhere around 72 lines (and sometimes multiple words within a single line) were misspelled somehow.  So I went through and corrected all the spelling errors, grammar, punctuation, and spacing.  I'm sure I missed a couple, but after 7987 lines, that's pretty good.

I'm currently working on recompiling the apk, and testing that it will install, and I'm having some trouble, but I'll get it.

In the meantime, I have attached the strings.xml for the DJI devs to look at.  This was taken from the current 4.1.5 release for Android.  Today actually.

If an admin would like to let me know whether or not it's ok to post a modified apk with a disclaimer that it's UNOFFICIAL, let me know.

strings.zip

128.7 KB, Down times: 7

Fixed strings.xml

2017-8-26
Use props
Montfrooij
Captain
Flight distance : 2560453 ft
  • >>>
Netherlands

Looks like good work
2017-8-26
Use props
lafoto
lvl.4
Flight distance : 1402680 ft
Portugal

Nice!... Great job!...
2017-8-26
Use props
M1dn1ght N1nj4
lvl.3
United States

Here is a link to the diff between the original strings, and the fixed strings.  Let me know if you can't see it.

https://www.diffchecker.com/EIn9ycDQ
2017-8-26
Use props
Spaners
lvl.2
Flight distance : 1542 ft
United Kingdom