Please select Into the mobile phone version | Continue to access the computer ver.
Large crack in propeller after sport mode flight
3796 18 2017-9-3
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
NdFeB
lvl.1
Flight distance : 85013 ft
United Kingdom

After flying in sport mode in large open area without any obstacles, I have discovered a large crack in one of the props. This could easly cause AC to drop out of the sky "with no reason". I did not hit any bird or anything else (maybe few bugs )
IMAG1394.jpg
2017-9-3
Use props
Surface2Air
First Officer
Flight distance : 167441 ft
Canada

I'm no expert, but I don't think a crack like that would manifest itself during a regular flight (even sport) - either way good that you spotted it and replaced it before it gets worse.
2017-9-3
Use props
jyc
Captain
Flight distance : 2246224 ft
Canada

Wow beautiful photos!
2017-9-3
Use props
Sparky_17
Captain
Flight distance : 62349 ft
Canada

You could have nicked the prop and the stress on the Blake may have caused the crack,  it does happen, nothing to worry about
2017-9-3
Use props
Martin Lines
Second Officer
Flight distance : 19147 ft
United Kingdom

Was Spark happy with the sudden change in height as you crossed the cliff edge?
(and having seen the large crack in the wider shot of where you were standing I am not sure I would have stood there given the record of UK cliffs this year!)
2017-9-3
Use props
fans34089405
Captain
Flight distance : 4862598 ft
  • >>>
Russia

According to YouTube videos, it will not fall from the sky with such kind of damage. It will start rotating and will land. I think most "fall from the sky" cases happened due to power/battery failure.
2017-9-3
Use props
HomePoint
First Officer
Flight distance : 776007 ft
  • >>>
United Kingdom

Girlfriend: He slipped and fell of the cliffs while flying the drone
Police: We are very sorry for your loss
Girlfriend:  I got life insurance yesterday, so I should be ok