Can you fly lower than the takeoff point
4134 13 2017-9-6
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
Pluggy
lvl.1
Flight distance : 33251 ft
United Kingdom

This may be a silly question, so apologies in advance.

I have the Spark Combo and as a relatively new pilot, I'd like to try some cinematic shots in the Avon Gorge or Cheddar Gorge.

If I fly down into the gorge, will the Spark behave itself and return to home at the right altitude. If the altitude is above take off point, flying down into a gorge or lower than a mountain top should register a negative altitude.

Before I do something stupid, has anyone any experience please?

Cheers

Ian
2017-9-6
Use props
JMR58
Second Officer
Flight distance : 627966 ft
  • >>>
Belgium

Yes it does show a negative altitude in red, i often take off from a high sand dune to cruise over the sea without any problem on negative altitude, just keeping it in line of sight!Enjoy your Spark!
RTH works perfectly also, it rises up to the setted +altitude before returning home.
You will lose gps and wifi connection when you enter into a cave, so be careful...
2017-9-6
Use props
Charles Adams
lvl.4
Flight distance : 3821312 ft
  • >>>
United States

I confirm that you can fly "lower" than takeoff point (or home point).  I flew up at my property a few weeks ago.  It's 40 acres on a mountainside.  I was taking off on the high points of my property to get the best views, and I was subsequently flying around the lower elevation portion of my property.  I had no issues, and the spark worked flawlessly.
2017-9-6
Use props
Sparky_17
lvl.4
Flight distance : 62349 ft
Canada

I agree, I tried the fly lower than take off point and it does fly well in '-' negative altitude ... enjoy and keep line of sight.
2017-9-6
Use props
NdFeB
lvl.2
Flight distance : 85013 ft
United States

If you fly lower than home point how high it will fly on RTH?  30m from the point of activating RTH or 30m above home point altitude?  
2017-9-6
Use props
hallmark007