12Next >
6104 60 2017-9-7
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
MrRobert5823
lvl.4
Flight distance : 1385223 ft
United States

I know the FAA says that we have to keep VLOS on our drones, but I often look down to see battery levels, verify direction and height as well as warnings that pop up.  When I look back, it's often hard to relocate my drone.  

I read a post recently, where the poster felt it was foolish to even bother looking at the screen.  As a noob, I want to know what some of the other folks around have to say about it.  

Thanks in advance for your input.

Single SelectVote, Total 71 people participate in voting View Poll participants

Voting has ended

18.31% (13)
14.08% (10)
23.94% (17)
19.72% (14)
23.94% (17)
Your user group with no voting privileges
2017-9-7
Use props
m1shootr
lvl.4
Flight distance : 118894 ft
United States

One must share their time between the aircraft and screen to be safe. Imho
2017-9-7
Use props
ALABAMA
First Officer
Flight distance : 10442687 ft
United States

Close eye on going out.  Close eye coming back.
2017-9-7
Use props
fans987d278a
lvl.4
Flight distance : 124180 ft
Canada

ALABAMA Posted at 2017-9-7 07:58

Once I;ve checked out battery levels, satellite count on take off & landing, If i tried watching my bird, especially on those long Litchi waypoint missions, heck , I'd go nuts trying to spot her!
2017-9-7
Use props
RedHotPoker
Captain
Flight distance : 165105 ft
Canada

Now a days, I can do both equally without worry of losing sight of the drone, if I glance down at the monitor to check battery values, or to change my camera controls.

Having Lume Cubes mounted to my landing skids, allows me to see my drone much farther away, than just bare eye sight and onboard LEDs.

I usually try to maintain VLOS, which had previously often become much harder the farther away I flew.

RedHotPoker
2017-9-7
Use props
MrRobert5823
lvl.4
United States