Tablet to use on controller
1008 10 2017-9-13
Uploading and Loding Picture ...(0/1)
o(^-^)o
djiuser_Jks4Qt5
New

Ireland

Hi all newbie here just got a phantom 4 . My acer 810 tablet on android 4 won't run software
Can't upgrade to android 5
Looking at acer 850 on 5.1 8 inch with one gig ram will this
Will this do the job
Thanks in advance edcot
2017-9-13
Use props
microlinux
lvl.4
Flight distance : 2576972 ft
  • >>>
United States

I would say probably not. Go 4 requires a pretty powerful device to run smoothly.
2017-9-13
Use props
fansa84fe8a4
Second Officer
Flight distance : 3 ft
United States

Agree with the above.   Get a strong and fast processor as I doubt if GO will be made downward compatible as it continues to grow in its need.

I gave up on Android devices as they seem to readily allow apps to self-load in the background at times and take over resources GO needs.  I've even had GO itself self-start without me using it on my Samsung.  That's one of the main issues I've had with Androids as well as the carrier and Samsung and Google fixing the app and then GO refuses to connect, reboots, or whatever.  My old Samsung tablet now takes maybe 6-10 seconds from me pressing a button to it actually doing what it should, unless I reboot it and its fine again.  In flight, the lag from what I saw got out to 15 seconds from where the drone was at,  it was actually further ahead than where it was on the screen.

As much as I hated to go to Apple ($$$), I ended up with an Air 2 and it was far better than the Androids.  However, Air 2 is no longer made and mine is begining to do the video lag thing that erupts as processing gets taxed out with newer GO versions.  An IPad Pro A10x is in my future it seems, unless Android comes out with smoother and faster running device without all the allowed bloatware getting into the O.S.